President appoints 5-memeber Delimitation Committee

Friday, 6 October 2017 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

President Maithripala Sirisena has appointed a five-member Delimitation Committee in keeping with the provisions of the Provincial Councils Elections (Amendment) Act which was passed by Parliament last month.

The five-member committee comprises K. Thavalingam (Chairman), Prof. S.H. Hasbullah, Dr. (Mrs.) Anila Dias Bandaranaike, P.M. Sriwardena and Sangaran Vijayasanthiran.

The committee is tasked with dividing each administrative district into such a number of electorates as corresponds to 50% of the total number of members to be elected from such an administrative district to a provincial council. 

Each electorate within an administrative district will be entitled to directly return one or more members, as the case may be, to a provincial council.

The committee has four months to submit a report.