Number of presidential hopefuls rise to 20

Thursday, 3 October 2019 02:33 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • Deposits paid on behalf of three more yesterday 
  • Two former MPs and businessman among them 

Three more candidates paid their cash deposits to the Election Commission yesterday, bringing the number of candidates vying for the presidency to a total of 20.

Deposits were paid on behalf of two former MPs, namely, Samaraweera Werrawanni and Asoka Wadigamangava, who will contest as independent candidates, while businessman A. S. P. Liyanage paid his deposit to contest from the Sri Lanka Labour Party (SLLP).

Among those who have paid deposits so far are ten who will contest from political parties, while ten will contest as independent candidates.

UNP nominee Sajith Premadasa is yet to pay his deposit. 

Prospective candidates have time until 12 noon on 6 October to make their deposits.