New Cabinet sworn in before President

Friday, 21 December 2018 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


The new Cabinet of Ministers took their oaths before President Maithripala Sirisena at the President’s office yesterday. 

Twenty-nine appointments were made with the number expected to expand in the next few days. Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe was given the Ministry of National Policies and Economic Affairs, Rehabilitation and Prison Reforms, Northern Development, Vocational Training, Skills Development and Youth Affairs. John Amaratunga retained the Ministry of Tourism Development and Christian Religious Affairs. Gamini Jayawickrema Perera is Minister of Buddha Sasana and North Western Province Development.

UNP MP Mangala Samaraweera was made Minister of Finance and Media, Lakshman Kiriella Minister of Public Enterprise Development, Upcountry Heritage and Kandy Development, Rauff Hakeem Minister of City Planning, Water Supply and Higher Education, Tilak Marapana Minister of Foreign Affairs, Rajitha Senaratne Minister of Health, Nutrition and Indigenous Medicine. Ravi Karunanayake was given the Power and Energy and Business Development portfolio.  

Vajira Abeywardhane is Minister of Internal and Home Affairs, Provincial Councils and Local Government, Rishad Bathiudeen is Minister of Industry and Commerce and Resettlement and Cooperative Development, Patali Champika Ranawaka was given the Ministry of Megapolis and Western Development, Naveen Dissanayake is the Minister of Plantation Industries, P. Harrison is the Minister of Agriculture, Rural Economic Affairs and Animal Husbandry Development and Kabir Hashim is the Minister of Highways and Road Development and Petroleum Resources Development.Ranjith Maddumabandara is Minister of Public Administration and Disaster Management, Gayantha Karunathilake is Minister of Lands and Parliamentary Reforms, Sajith Premadasa is Minister of Housing, Construction and Cultural Affairs, Arjuna Ranatunga is Minister of Transport and Civil Aviation, Palani Digambaran is Minister of Upcountry New Villages, Infrastructure and Community Development and Chandrani Bandara is Minister of Women and Child Affairs and Development of Dry Zones.

Thalatha Athukorale retained the portfolio of Justice and Prison Reforms, Akila Viraj Kariyawasam is Minister of Education, Abdul Haleem Mohamed Hashim is Minister of Postal Services and Muslim Religious Affairs, Sagala Ratnayake is Minister of Ports, Maritime Affairs and Southern Development, Harin Fernando is Minister of Telecommunication, Digital Infrastructure Facilities, Foreign Employment and Sports.

Mano Ganeshan is Minister of National Integration, Official Languages, Social Progress and Hindu Religious Affairs, Daya Gamage is Minister of Labour, Trade Union Relations and Social Empowerment and Malik Samarawickrema is Minister of Development Strategies, International Trade, Science, Technology and Research.