Motion to appoint members to Committee of Selection before House tomorrow

Monday, 20 January 2020 03:53 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • Speaker chairs 17-member Committee
  • Govt. names 9 members, rest from Opp. parties

By Chandani Kirinde 

A motion to confirm MPs to serve as members of the Parliamentary Committee of Selection, which in turn nominates members to other important parliamentary committees such as CoPE and the COPA, will be presented to the House tomorrow.

The Committee is chaired by Speaker Karu Jayasuriya and consists of 17 members including leaders of the political parties or their nominees to be nominated by Parliament to serve in the current Session.

The Government has nominated nine members to serve on the Committee including MPs Chamal Rajapaksa, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Dinesh Gunawardena, Johnston Fernando, Douglas Devananda, Mahinda Samarasinghe, Gamini Lokuge, Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena and Rohitha Abeygunawardena.

The other members nominated by the Opposition to the Committee are MPs Lakshman Kiriella, John Amaratunga, Vijitha Herath, Rishad Bathiudeen, Patali Champika Ranawaka, Mano Ganesan, Niroshan Perera and Mavai S. Senathirajah.

The Committee of Selection is appointed at the commencement for each new session.

The Committee on Public Accounts (COPA), the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) and the Committee on Public Finance are among those that have to be reconstituted after they lapsed with the propagation of Parliament last December.