Justice Ministry transfers 12 high-ranking prisons officials

Thursday, 2 August 2018 00:03 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Justice Ministry yesterday announced that 12 high-ranking prisons officials attached to ten prisons have been transferred with immediate effect.

Accordingly, five Prisons Superintendents, five Assistant Superintendents, and three Jailers have been ordered transferred.

Superintendent of Prisons (Special Grade) T. I. Uduwara has been transferred from Mahara Prison to Welikada Prisons, while Superintendent of Prisons K. A. S. Kodituwakku has been transferred from Colombo Remand Prison to Mahara Prison.

Superintendent of Prisons M. F. Laffir has been transferred from Welikada Prison to Vavuniya Prison, while Superintendent of Prisons U. B. Walisundara has been transferred from Prisons Headquarters to Watareka Prison. Assistant Superintendent L. G. Sudath Rohana has been transferred from Badulla Prison to Anuradhapura Prison, Assistant Superintendent W. G. F. Fernando from Vavuniya Prison to Badulla Prison and L. J. M. K. Bandara from Anuradhapura to Colombo Remand Prison. Assistant Superintendent S. V. H. Priyankara has been transferred from Watareka Prison to Weerawila Prison, while W. A. D. C. Karunasekara has been transferred from Weerawila Prison to Matara Prison.

Jailer P. Vajira Abeydeera has been transferred from Magazine Prison to Welikada Prison to serve as Chief Jailer. Jailer M. S. Mohan Karunaratne has been transferred from Welikada Prison to Prisons Headquarters while Jailer K. P. W. D. Wijekanthi has been transferred from Welikada Prison to Badulla Prison. Issuing a statement, the Ministry said the transfers were a directive of Justice Minister Thalatha Atukorale to strengthen the prison department, over pertinent regulations and reforms in the years to come. 

The letters of transfer were submitted to the Prisons Commissioner General Nishan Dhanasinghe by the Justice Ministry Secretary W. M. M. R. Adhikari.