Gammanpila no-confidence motion debate begins today

Monday, 19 July 2021 03:16 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • SJB’s Champika Ranawaka to move motion
  • Govt. says all its MPs will vote against it
  • Vote scheduled for tomorrow evening

Energy Minister Udaya Gammanpila 


The two-day debate on the no-confidence motion against Energy Minister Udaya Gammanpila will begin today and will conclude tomorrow with the vote on the motion scheduled for 5:30 p.m.

The motion will be moved by SJB MP Champika Ranawaka.

43 SJB MPs have signed the motion in which they alleged that Gammanpila has failed in his responsibilities as Energy Minister and had not obtained Cabinet approval for the recent fuel price hike.

Leader of the House Minister Dinesh Gunawardena said all Government MPs will vote against the motion.

“Government members are united in their opposition to the no-confidence motion against Minister Gammanpila,” he said.

The other allegations against the Minister are that he has not fulfilled the pledge given to use the profit earned by the Government when prices were falling to rescue the Ceylon Petroleum Corporation from its indebtedness to State banks.

The motion also alleges that raising of fuel prices has led to the rise of production cost in all consumer goods parallel to it and the accompanying escalation of inflation, thereby placing people affected by the COVID-19 pandemic in further suffering economically, and this has led to the possible adverse effects on exports and the overall economy due to the escalation of production cost.