Five new envoys to Sri Lanka present credentials to President

Tuesday, 21 January 2020 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Four new ambassadors and a new High Commissioner concurrently accredited to Sri Lanka presented their credentials to President Gotabaya Rajapaksa at the President’s House in Colombo yesterday.

The Envoys who presented credentials were State of Qatar Ambassador Designate Jassim bin Jaber J.B. Al-Sorour, Republic of Turkey Ambassador Designate Rakibe Demet-Şekercioğlu, Islamic Republic of Pakistan High Commissioner Designate Major General (Retd.) Muhammad Saad Khattak, Grand Duchy of Luxembourg based in New Delhi Ambassador Designate Jean Claude Kugener, and Republic of Slovenia based in New Delhi Ambassador Designate Dr. Marjan Cencen.

The Ambassadors of the State of Qatar and Republic of Turkey as well as the Pakistan High Commissioner will be based in Colombo. The Ambassadors to the Grand Duchy of Luxemburg and Slovenia will be based in New Delhi.

After the presentation ceremony, welcoming the delegates the President spoke of strengthening bilateral relations and expanding on areas of common interests such as education, development, technology and agriculture. The new diplomats also expressed their commitment to uphold the long ties their countries had had with Sri Lanka and work with Sri Lanka to develop on the common interests as mentioned by President.

Foreign Minister Dinesh Gunawardena also spoke and noted that Sri Lanka always had maintained cordial relations with all five countries.