Final report of PCoI on Easter Sunday attacks handed over to President

Tuesday, 2 February 2021 01:22 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Final report of PCoI being handed over to President Gotabaya Rajapaksa by the Commission’s Chairman Supreme Court Judge Janak de Silva while other members look on 

The final report of the Presidential Commission of Inquiry (PCoI) into the Easter Sunday attacks was handed over to President Gotabaya Rajapaksa by the Commission’s Chairman Supreme Court Judge Janak de Silva at the Presidential Secretariat yesterday.

The first and second interim reports were handed over to President on 20 December and on 2 March 2020 respectively.

The Commission recorded evidence from 457 people over a period of 214 days. Among them were members of the policy makers, including former President Maithripala Sirisena, former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, Defence Ministry Secretaries, top-level security personnel, intelligence service personnel, as well as those affected by the deadly attacks.

The Report comprises 472 pages, 215 annexures and six volumes.

Former President Maithripala Sirisena appointed the Commission on 22 September 2019 to investigate and report on the series of terrorist attacks on Easter Sunday and to recommend necessary action based on the findings.

Eight suicide terrorists carried out deadly attacks on 21 April 2019, targeting tourist hotels and Catholic churches. The series of explosions took place at St. Anthony’s Church – Kochchikade, St. Sebastian’s Church – Katuwapitiya, Zion Church – Batticaloa and in three five-star-class hotels in Colombo, namely Shangri-La, The Kingsbury and Cinnamon Grand. In addition, two terrorists killed themselves by detonating bombs in Dematagoda and Dehiwala.

The series of attacks cost 270 lives and injured around 500 people.

Other members of the Commission Court of Appeal Judge Nishshanka Bandula Karunaratne, Retd. Supreme Court Judges Nihal Sunil Rajapaksha and A.L. Bandula Kumara Atapattu, former Secretary to the Ministry of Justice W.M.M.R. Adhikari, Secretary to the Commission H.M.P. Buwaneka Herath, Secretary to the President Dr. P.B. Jayasundera and Principal Advisor to the President Lalith Weeratunga were also present on the occasion.