British Sri Lankan Association announce BRISLA Awards Winners

Tuesday, 19 January 2021 02:06 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The British Sri Lankan Association has announced the 2020 BRISLA Award winners.

The Outstanding Friend to the BRISLA community was won by Lord Tariq Ahmad of Wimbledon. Lifetime Achievement Award was won by Sir Peter Heap KCMG. Local Community Hero of the Year was won by Sujith Weerasinghe. Outstanding Achievement in the Professions was won by Julia Dias QC. Outstanding Contribution to Leadership was won by Professor Nishan Canagarajah.

In a message on the occasion of the BRISLA Awards 2020, Sri Lanka High Commissioner in UK Saroja Sirisena said the British Sri Lanka Association (BRISLA) plays an important role in the British Sri Lankan community. 

“BRISLA contributes constructively in recognising the contribution made by British Sri Lankans in the promotion of social cohesion, integration, and prosperity,” the Lankan High Commissioner said. 

Sirisena said she is pleased that winners of the BRISLA Awards 2020 have been announced and took this opportunity to congratulate the winners of BRISLA Awards 2020.

“The High Commission of Sri Lanka in the UK remains ready to extend its support to BRISLA towards the success of this endeavour this year,” she added.