All SLFP candidates to serve people, says President

Saturday, 17 February 2018 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

President Maithripala Sirisena said programs will be implemented in the near future to serve the people, together with all the people’s representatives who contested for the Local Government election under the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) led United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA). He added that the program will be implemented by the SLFP and the Government. 

“None of the defeated candidates would ever be abandoned, and all of them would become representatives of me appointed to develop the village,’ the President said.

He made these remarks addressing a meeting held with the SLFP- led UPFA winning candidates under his leadership, including the SLFP district and electorate organisers at the President’s House in Colombo, on Thursday.  

Candidates who won the election under the SLFP, the UPFA, the Ceylon Workers’ Congress (CWC), the National Congress and the EPDP took part in this meeting. 

Sirisena further said that all the people’s representatives should commit themselves to creating a political movement free of fraud and corruption in keeping with the SLFP’s pledge.

Pointing out that everyone should work together to take forward an accurate and strong political and development process, Sirisena called on all present to rectify the mistakes and learn from the experiences gained at the recent Local Government election.   

The President said that he is pleased with this mandate given to the SLFP led by the UPFA to create a political movement free of fraud and corruption, and expressed his gratitude for all those who contributed in this task. 

The  National Movement Against Fraud, Corruption, and Irregularities will come into gear within next two weeks, which was presented as the slogan of SLFP in the election. Sirisena further said that the support of religious leaders, scholars, as well as international assistance is expected in this regard. 

CWC Leader Arumugam Thondaman and Former Minister and leader of the National Congress A. L. M. Athaullah expressed their views during this event. 

Minister Nimal Siripala de Silva, Senior Vice Chairman of SLFP Mahinda Amaraweera, Secretary General of UPFA Anura Priyadharshana Yapa, S. B. Dissanayake, and other senior ministers of also took part.