16 crossover MPs asked to show cause; deadline today: Kiriella

Tuesday, 22 January 2013 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The UNP Working Committee decided to pursue with legal action against the 16 MPs who voted in favour of the impeachment motion against Chief Justice Shirani Bandaranayake despite being voted into Parliament on the UNP ticket, UNP Senior Vice President Lakshman Kiriella said.

This includes the eight SLMC MPs, he said. According to Kiriella, the MPs have already been sent letters asking them to show cause and present themselves before a disciplinary inquiry and they have been provided time to do so until today.

The Party will pursue with legal action against them all, the UNP Senior Vice President said.