McLarens Formula the most competitive event in Colombo Night Races 2011

Tuesday, 13 December 2011 00:45 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Asian Motor Racing Club which has the best of Formula drivers in the country will be in action representing the McLarens team at the forthcoming Colombo Night Races scheduled for 16-17 December.

The club will have three teams for all categories in Formula Ford 1600cc (Post 85), Formula Ford 1600cc (Pre 85) and Formula McLarens 1300cc. The most experienced Formula driver Rohan de Silva leads the team from McLarens.

Rohan who has nearly 30 years of racing expertise will drive Ford Formula 1600cc on this day, while he will have the services of Dinesh Jayawardene an another young expert on the Formula cars who also has been shining in other categories. He was the winner of the Speed 2011 Championship ahead of few young drivers who competed along with him.

Dinesh Jayawardene will be the main hope to bring honor to the McLarens Team in this category. In this class the others who will compete for the McLarens team Ashan Silva Saraz Nawaz and Shirendra Lawrance too are capable of challenging the other drivers with their experience gained through the competitions held here during the Speed Championship 2011.

Rikaz Khalid the young Formula driver who has competed in Indian circuits in the recent past is sure to come up with top class performances at this meet. He is a driver in the making for the future.

Meanwhile the Ford Formula 1600cc (Pre 85) class is packed with another set of fine drivers who has performed well in the local motor racing scene. Susantha Gunewardene who has come up with many good performances in this class will take top spot while Ravi Mayadunne and Kaushal Samarasinghe are expected to drive their machines well to reach podium positions here on this day.  

The McLarens Formula 1300 team is a pack of young drivers who have graduated for Formula driving through ‘Go Karting’ at the Sped Drome. They are the first set of youngster to make their way to the Formula racing in Sri Lanka and also to compete in a mega show here.

The team comprises nine drivers who shown their class during the year competing in the local scene driving alongside the experienced drivers. This will be an opportunity for them to come up with a fine show to themselves as up and coming Formula drivers for the future racing in Sri Lanka.

Though they are a young team, they are capable of handling their machines to suit the occasion and are sure to be on the run to bring in success to Team McLarens.

The Team McLarens heavily bank on Yanik Lawrence and Viran Boteju to shine here to keep their flag flying and to add to boost the morale of the senior team as they are engaged in a tough battle.  

Ford Formula 1600cc (Post 85) – Rohan de Silva, Dinesh Jayawardene, Ashan Silva, Dilshan Dodanwala, Safraz Nawaz, Shirendra Lawrence,  Tharindu lokuge and Rikaz Khalid.

Ford Formula 1600cc (Pre 85) – Susantha Gunewardene, Kaushal Samarasinghe, Emdad Hussain and Ravi Mayadunne.

McLarens Formula 1300cc – Mohan de Silva, Yanik Lawrence, Asela Ekanayake, Devanka Wijesekera, Nigel Fernando, Viren Boteju, Gayan Ranatunge, Tulfiq and Zalie.