Stuart Chapman new Chairman of SLCPI

Tuesday, 2 July 2013 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Stuart Chapman, Managing Director of GlaxoSmithKline, was elected as the President of the Sri Lankan Chamber of Pharmaceutical Industry (SLCPI). The Annual General Meeting of the SLCPI was held at Taj Samudra Hotel in Colombo last week, under the patronage of Health Minister Maithripala Sirisena. Chapman succeeded Vish Govindasamy, Group Managing Director of Sunshine Holdings, who was President of the Chamber from 2011 to 2013. SLCPI’s other office bearers for the year 2013/2014 were also appointed at the Annual General Meeting. Colonel Chandra Jayarathne was elected as the Senior Vice President while Sanjeewa Samaranayake was appointed the Vice President of the Chamber. Pradeep Edward took over the position as the new Secretary of the SLCPI while Mario Alphael and H.A.A. Priyantha were appointed as the Assistant Secretary and the Treasurer respectively. In his inaugural speech, the new President said the SLCPI, as the representative of the industry, needs to examine the values it chooses to uphold as an industry, and for this purpose examine its own backyard. “This responsibility falls fairly and squarely on our industry business leaders,” he said. “As we look forward to the ensuing year, to my mind, the single most important area around which we need to build all our activities is trust. It is a contract we have with society based on our values and requires the commitment of all of us. It is the foundation for growth, which may take years to build but only seconds to destroy. Trust therefore needs to be nurtured very carefully,” the new President said, highlighting that the industry needs to be trusted patients, healthcare professionals, customers and the Government. Health Minister Maithripala Sirisena in his speech commended the steps taken by the SLCPI towards ensuring the betterment of the healthcare industry. He said the SLCPI worked hand in hand with the Government in resolving various issues affecting the industry. At the event, lifetime awards were given to two industry veterans who rendered immense service to the country. Chintha Abeywardena, former Chief Pharmacist of Cosmetics, Devices and Drugs Authority and former WHO Consultant and K.K. Sirisena, Chairman of The New Pharmacy & Co. Limited in Kurunegala, received lifetime awards. IMF Representative in Sri Lanka Koshi Mathai graced the event as a Special Guest while Dr. Amal Harsha de Silva, Additional Secretary (Medical Service) of the Health Ministry, and several other senior officials also participated.