University of Colombo MBA Alumni Association AGM today

Thursday, 17 July 2014 01:09 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The MBA Alumni Association of the University of Colombo will hold its Annual General Meeting (AGM) today (17 July) at the Hilton Residence. The MBA Program of the Colombo University commenced 30 years ago with the objective of building management capability to support the growth and development of Sri Lanka. Graduates of the program got together in 1997 to form an Alumni Association which could keep members in touch with each other, support the faculty of the MBA Program and also arrange lectures, workshops, seminars and conferences to keep abreast of current developments in the field and matters of topical interest in the country’s economy. The association has now completed 17 years of operation and they will step into a new year with the election of new office bearers for 2014/15 at the AGM. Their members belong to various professional disciplines such as finance and auditing, banking, engineering, law, marketing etc and work in both the private and public sectors of the economy. The proceedings of the AGM will be conducted by Saranga Wijeratne, the outgoing President, with Irshan Jayah, Secretary and Manohari Abeysekera, Treasurer. The nominees for office bearers in the forthcoming year are Rohana Ellawala as President, Thusitha De Silva as Secretary and Boshan Dayarathne as Treasurer. Well-known advertising personality Irvin Weerackody, Chairman of the Ogilvy Group, will be the Chief Guest. At the end of formal proceedings the House will adjourn for fellowship. The committee has lined up a fun-filled evening for all who are present.