Old Royalists in UAE hold AGM in Dubai

Wednesday, 18 June 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Old Royalists in United Arab Emirates (ORUAE) held their Annual General Meeting on Friday, 6 June at Sheraton Deira, Dubai and Trevor Fernando was unanimously elected as ninth President of Old Royalists in UAE. Old Royalist in UAE (ORUAE) was formed in 1999 under the guidance of six Old Royalists residing in UAE, namely Rameez Mahamoor, Namal Fernando (Jnr), Namal Fernando (Snr), Mohamed Azmeer, S.A. Ramachandran and Asoka Bandaranayake. Immediate Past President Danika Gamage addressed the meeting and outlined the many successful events held during his tenure (2012-2014), such as the ninth Annual Royal – Thomian Dinner Dance in UAE, 13th Battle of the Blues in Gulf in UAE and contributions made to Loyalty Pledge to College, donation of 20 teachers’ chairs for the College Staff Room, Family Day Out organised for Retired Teachers of Royal College (RCPTA) in honour of past teachers’ sheer devotion and commitment for Royalists to achieve excellence in their chosen sphere of life and monthly (Poya Day) meal donations to Deaf and Blind School – Ratmalana, Sri Lanka. Patron Farook Kassim rendered an inspirational discourse about the formation and journey of Old Royalist Group in UAE from the inception and the valuable contribution to their Alma Mater and social activities organised for general membership in UAE. Respectable Auditor Nurendra Perera applauded the good accounting standards maintained for year 2012/14 and provided valuable insight to ‘Proposal of Prudential Recommendations’. The proceeding of electing the office bearers for year 2014/2016 was conducted under the supervision of Patrons Farook Kassim, Heshan De Silva and Past Presidents Roshan Kariyawasam/Ponniah Thayananthan.

 ORUAE Committee: Year 2014/16

Patrons: Farook Kassim, Heshan De Silva, Skanda Kandasamy Past Presidents: Rameez Mahamoor, Brian Perera, Chanaka Warnapura, Roshan Kariyawasam, Ponniah Thayananthan, Deepal Rajaguru Immediate Past President: Danika Gamage President: Trevor Fernando Vice President: Uthpala Ranatunga Secretary: Tharinda Nanayakkara Asst Secretary: Janaka Lokuge Treasurer: Shihan Sheriff Asst Treasurer: Sugeesha Dinushan Committee Members: Prasanna Wanigasekera Dinendra John Madhava Chandresekra Sisila Indraratne Amal Karunaratne Rasmar Lye Sheron Fernando ORUAE official web site- http://www.rcuae.net/