Matara district branch of Ruhunu University Alumni Association formed

Monday, 30 December 2013 01:15 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Text and Pix by P.D. De Silva The Alumni of the University of Ruhuna formed a district branch in Matara last Wednesday (25th). The Matara district branch is the fourth affiliated branch of the Association of the University of Ruhuna alumni. The Galle, Hambanthota and Monaragala branches were formed earlier while the Kurunegala and Ratnapura branches are to be formed in 2014. Y. Wickremasiri who will assume duties as Secretary of the Southern Province Ministry of Education in January 2014 was appointed founder President while Athula Gajasinghe was appointed as Secretary. Vice Chancellor of the University of Ruhuna Senior Professor Gamini Senanayake addressing the gathering said, “I was first appointed to the faculty of Agriculture in Mapalana in 1979 and have served the University of Ruhuna for the past 34 years. We have seen it grow with time and should be proud that the University is one of the top three in the island now. The University of Ruhuna can boast of having eight faculties and you should be proud that the Deans of four faculties are past graduates of the university.” “I am aware that there are many graduates of the university who are serving at foreign universities and we are in the process of compiling a directory of alumni of the university. The Government has approved Rs 2.5 billion to develop the Ruhunu University township which will include a state-of-the-art air conditioned auditorium with seating capacity for 1500 which should be completed in 2015.” The founder office bearers of the Matara District Branch of the University of Ruhuna Alumni Association are:
  • President – Y. Wickremasiri (Secretary Provincial Ministry of Education – Southern Province)
  • Vice President    – K.G.S. Kumara (District Secretaries Office)
  • Secretary – Athula Gajasinghe (Dharmavijaya College – Talalla)
  • Asst Secretary – T.G. Ariyasena (Deputy Principal Dharmavijaya College – Thalalla)
  • Treasurer – Deepthi Kumara (District Secretaries Office – Matara)
  • Organiser – D.D.M. Wijesinghe (District Secretaries Office – Matara)