Aravinda Perera appointed to CSE Board

Tuesday, 22 July 2014 00:22 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Aravinda Perera was appointed to the Board of Directors of the Colombo Stock Exchange (CSE) with effect from 9 July 2014, in place of Krishan Balendra, who completed his term as Chairman of the Board and resigned from the Board with effect from 5 June2014. Perera is currently the Managing Director of Sampath Bank PLC. His current appointments include Director of Siyapatha Finance Ltd., Governing Board Member of the Institute of Bankers of Sri Lanka, Director Lanka Financial Services Bureau Ltd., Director Lanka Bangla Finance Ltd. and Immediate Past President of the Association of Professional Bankers of Sri Lanka. He formerly held the positions of Deputy Managing Director, Chief Operating Officer, Deputy General Manager (Corporate Banking) and other roles spanning a career of 27 years at Sampath Bank. Perera was formerly employed as a Senior Project Officer, DFCC and Departmental Manager and Service Engineer at Ceylon Tobacco Company and an Engineer at National Milk Board. Perera counts over 30 years in the banking sector and is a Fellow Member of the Institute of Bankers, Sri Lanka, and Fellow Member of the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants, UK, Chartered Engineer and member of the Institute of Engineers, Sri Lanka. He holds an MBA from the University of Sri Jayewardenepura, Bachelor of Science degree in Engineering from the University of Moratuwa. The Board of Directors of the CSE now comprises Vajira Kulatilaka (Chairman), M.R. Prelis, Dakshitha Thalgodapitiya, Hiran de Alwis, Jeewa Niriella, Ray Abeywardena, Asanga Seneviratne and Aravinda Perera.