Royle Chairman-elect at DFCC Bank

Monday, 3 March 2014 02:06 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

C. Royle Janz has been appointed as Chairman-elect at DFCC Bank at its Board meeting on 26 February. The move is in view of the impending retirement of Rajan Brito as DFCC Bank Chairman in March on completion of nine years as a Director of the bank. Brito will continue as Chairman of DFCC Vardhana Bank until the expiration of his nine-year period as a Director in October 2014. Brito was appointed to the DFCC Bank Board in March 2005 and was made Chairman in September 2005. He is the Deputy Chairman and Managing Director of Aitken Spence Plc. Distilleries Company owns a 6.43% stake in DFCC Bank and is the sixth largest shareholder. Jansz was first appointed to the DFCC Board in July 2010. He counts over 36 years of experience in logistics in the import and export field and in documentation, insurance, banking and finance, relation to international trade. He presently serves on the Board of Distilleries Company Plc, Balangoda Plantations Plc, Lanka Milk Foods Plc and several other companies of the Distilleries Group. He is a former Chairman of Sri Lanka Shippers Council and a former member of the National Trade Facilitation Committee of Sri Lanka. Jansz holds a Diploma in Banking and Finance from the London Guildhall University UK. He is also a Chevening Scholar and a UN-ESCAP certified training manager on maritime transport for shippers. At present the Board of Directors of DFCC Bank Plc comprises J.M.S. Brito (Chairman), C.R. Jansz (Chairman-elect), A.S. Abeywardena, G.K. Dayasri, H.M.N.S. Gunawardana, R.B. Thambiayah, L.P. Chandradasa, J.E.A. Perumal, P.M.B. Fernando,  S.R. Thambiayah (Alternative Director) and A.R. Fernando (CEO/Ex-official Director).