New lawmakers meet

Tuesday, 1 September 2015 01:16 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

All eyes will be directed at the House on the Diyawanna Oya today as Parliamentarians elected on 17 August take oaths. After much wrangling President Maithripala Sirisena yesterday agreed to allow the Opposition to elect their leader, according to National Freedom Front Leader Wimal Weerawansa. UNP senior member Karu Jayasuriya is tipped to become the Speaker and will be nominated by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe. Once oaths are taken and appointments made, President Sirisena is expected to make a brief address to the new lawmakers