New 10 rupee coin coming district wise!

Friday, 4 January 2013 03:44 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Central Bank on Wednesday announced that a new series of Rs. 10 coins to depict each district of the country would be issued this year.

The bank also said that a major ‘idle coin gathering program’ would be launched as well to collect and re-issue new coins for circulation.

Governor Nivard Cabraal said steps would be taken to ensure that Sri Lanka’s currency notes reflect an emerging and prosperous society. In this regard the ‘Clean Note Policy’ will be robustly implemented with soiled notes being replaced in an efficient and effective manner.

“This will make cash transactions pleasant and improve the image of the country,” he added.

The Central Bank is also planning to implement an advanced automated cash processing system to increase efficiency, reduce operational risks, and improve working environment. A more environment-friendly disposal system for unfit currency notes will be established as well.


The Clean Note Policy is in association with licensed banks and the general public.

The Central Bank said in 2012 that currency management improved further with measures taken to inculcate good habits of handling currency notes and coins through public awareness programs. The bank also developed a close relationship with law enforcement authorities to educate the general public on security features of currency notes, whilst instructions were issued to licensed banks and finance companies to have counterfeit detectable counting/sorting machines.