Ex-HSBC Dimantha joins Pan Asia Bank as CEO/Director from March 2014

Tuesday, 24 December 2013 00:41 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Global giant HSBC’s Dimantha Seneviratne will be joining Pan Asia Bank Plc as the new CEO/Director with effect from 1 March 2014. The appointment announced yesterday is subject to regulatory approval. Dimantha will succeed Claude Peiris, CEO and Director of Pan Asia Bank, who will be retiring from the Bank and the Board from 31 January 2014. Dimantha counts over 23 years of banking experience of which 15 years was with the HSBC Group, including several overseas postings in Thailand, Bangladesh and Saudi Arabia. During his career he has specialised in the areas of corporate banking, retail banking and wealth management, credit risk management, operations and market risk management, internal control, investment banking and debt capital markets and finance. Within the HSBC Group from 2008 to 2013, Dimantha has served as the Chief Risk Officer Sri Lanka and the Maldives, Bangladesh and Thailand. Prior to that he was the Head of Credit Risk Management at HSBC Sri Lanka and the Maldives. In these respective locations, Dimantha has been a member of the country leadership team directing and executive the business strategy and governance. Commencing his banking career with Sampath Bank, Dimantha then moved on to work with the former Overseas Trust Bank, Colombo branch and subsequently moved to Saudi British Bank, Middle East in 1998 and he joined the HSBC Group where he gained valuable exposure in diversified cultures under different regulatory and market environments. Dimantha holds an MBA from the Postgraduate Institute of Management, and a BSc, both from the University of Sri Jayawardenapura. He is a Fellow Member of the Institute of Bankers, Sri Lanka. He is a Past President of The Association of Professional Bankers APB) Sri Lanka (2010-2011) having held various postings in the Executive Council of APB for over a decade including the post of Secretary General (2008-9) and Senior Vice President (2009-10). He has also been a member of several consultative committees set up by the Sri Lanka Banks Association in conjunction with the Central Bank of Sri Lanka on various regulatory reforms.