Dayasiri loses his first battle at Wayamba PC

Saturday, 12 October 2013 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The road ahead looks rocky in the ruling party for new North Western Province Chief Minister and UNP dissident Dayasiri Jayasekera after his preferred candidate for Chairman of the newly-elected provincial council was defeated by UPFA members in favour of the Opposition proposed candidate. Both nominations were for members from the ruling UPFA which has 34 seats in the North Western Provincial Council elected on 21 September. However, Jayasekera made it clear that she was his choice when he nominated UPFA Councillor Indrani Dassanayake for the position of PC chairman. UNP Councillor M.S. Perera nominated a second UPFA candidate Dharmasiri Dissanayake for the position. An appeal by Chief Minister Jayasekera for Dassanayake to stand down and withdraw his nomination proved futile. A secret ballot was called to decide on the two candidates, with Jayasekera’s candidate only able to muster 22 votes against the opposition-preferred candidate who obtained 30 votes. The combined Opposition has 18 members on the Council. The Government members’ protest vote comes on the heels of a similar incident at the Central Provincial Council election of chairman and deputy chairman, when at least seven Government members voted in favour of the Opposition candidate nominated to that position. Dayasiri Jayasekera, who had a tough campaign against SLFP faithful candidates at the elections, managed to obtain a record breaking number of preferential votes to secure Chief Ministerial office. (DB)