Thonda snubs Sirisena, to work with MR says SLPP

Monday, 12 February 2018 00:52 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) will govern 11 local government bodies in the Nuwara-Eliya District together with the Ceylon Workers’ Congress (CWC), SLPP MP C.B. Rathnayake said yesterday.

His comments came after attending a public meeting in Hatton with CWC General Secretary Arumugan Thondaman.

He further said it would receive power in the Local Government bodies secured by the United National Party (UNP) with a coalition of SLPP-elected members and the bonus seat receivers.

The agreement by Thondaman was an apparent U-turn as prior to the poll there was an agreement with the President Maithripala Sirisena-led UPFA/SLFP, with Sirisena himself getting onto the CWC stage during the campaign period in plantation areas.