State vehicles not exempted from carbon tax

Friday, 18 January 2019 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


The carbon tax, which came into effect from January this year, is applicable to all vehicles including those in the public sector, and the registered owners of every motor vehicle specified in the Act will have to pay this levy, the Finance Ministry said in a statement yesterday.  

Only electric vehicles are exempted from the carbon tax, but all other vehicles including State-owned vehicles are liable for the carbon tax.

The Ministry of Finance and Mass Media denied that all State-owned vehicles are exempted from the carbon tax. 

According to the Finance Act No. 35 of 2018, the registered owner of any relevant vehicle shall pay the carbon tax for every year, other than for the first year of the registration at the time of renewal of the annual registration of the vehicle.

The carbon tax is levied under three categories as shown in the graphic based on each Cubic Centimeter capacity.