Sony, Sky win broadcast rights for LPL

Saturday, 21 November 2020 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • ITN to telecast matches in Sri Lanka

Sony Pictures Networks (SPN) India has acquired the exclusive pay television and IPTV broadcast rights for the Lanka Premier League (LPL) India, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Afghanistan, Nepal, Bhutan and Maldives and non-exclusive FTA rights for the same countries excluding Sri Lanka. 

Global sports broadcasting giant Sky Sports have won the rights for UK while State-owned Independent Television Network (ITN) have won the rights to telecast matches in Sri Lanka whereas Geo and PTV have won the telecast rights in Pakistan.

Sony Pictures Networks India Distribution Chief Revenue Officer and Head – Sports Business Rajesh Kaul said: “We share a long-standing relationship with the Sri Lanka Cricket board and as the rights holders of Sri Lanka Cricket, this is a natural extension. There is never enough cricket for India and the Lanka Premier League is a good brand of cricket that is set to feature many sub-continent players making it a very attractive addition to our cricket portfolio. 

“Sony Pictures Networks India is the premier destination for the best of international cricket and for us, it is not just about broadcasting an event but it’s about bringing people closer to the game. We are extremely happy to say that with Lanka Premier League we will be bringing that brand of cricket for our audience in India.”

Sky Sports Director of Cricket Bryan Henderson said: “Sky Sports are delighted to be broadcasting the Lanka Premier League this year as the appetite for T20 cricket grows across the globe. Sri Lankans have always played an exciting brand of limited overs cricket and we look forward to seeing more talent emerge from this tournament as well as following many other stars from around the world.”

“It’s indeed a pleasure to be associated with Lankan Premier League as broadcast partners. I believe, the show has to go on despite the challenges we face due to COVID-19 pandemic. I congratulate all the stakeholders and IPG Group for providing us the opportunity of becoming part of a fantastic event. We shall give our best to contribute in its success,” said PTV Sports and PTV Global Head Dr. Nauman Niaz.

“On behalf of Blitz Advertising Ltd., the media marketing rights holders for Pakistan territory and its partner channels, PTV Sports and Geo Super, wish all the best to Lanka Premier League and IPG for staying put and organising the event in these challenging times. We are very glad in partnering with LPL and IPG and hopeful that the beautiful Island Nation and the star players will deliver a truly exciting and memorable experience to all the cricket enthusiasts all across Pakistan,” added Group CEO Ahsen Idris.

ITN Chairman Sudath Rohana said: “Sport has reach like few others and an immense power to bring positive social change through the actions and words of its athletes. Cricket is the sport Sri Lanka can associate itself with, and the game that can bring in that kind of change in the Island Nation. It gives me an immense sense of satisfaction to partner LPL and be part of this social change that will go a long way in helping the nation grow through cricket.”

SLC VP and LPL Tournament Director Ravin Wickramaratne said: “LPL’s broadcasting partner’s – Sky, Sony, Geo and PTV – global reach will help the League grow in stature and will help the League connect with millions of fans across the globe.”

The Dubai-based promoters of LPL IPG CEO Anil Mohan said: “It gives me immense pleasure to welcome our broadcast partners – Sky, Sony, ITN, Geo and PTV – on board of this prestigious event and I can confidently say that their association is a great testament to the brand LPL.”

The LPL is scheduled to kick-off from 26 November till 16 December at Mahinda Rajapaksha International Cricket Stadium (MRIC) in Hambantota. Five franchisee teams, named after Colombo, Kandy, Galle, Dambulla and Jaffna, will compete in 23 matches over a 15-day period for the title. 

Colombo will take on Kandy in the opening match and the final will be played on 16 December. A galaxy of global stars which includes Shahid Afridi, Shoaib Malik, Angelo Mathews, Irfan Pathan and many more will be taking part in the 15-day extravaganza. 


ICC Chief Match Referee Madugalle, Elite Panel Umpire Dharmasena to feature in LPL