Parliamentary Committee of Selection appointed

Saturday, 22 August 2020 00:12 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • Committee comprises 7 Govt. MPs and 5 from Opposition
  • Selection Committee will in turn name members to committees such as COPE and COPA

Parliament yesterday approved the appointment of 12 members to the Committee of Selection which will function under the chairmanship of Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena.

The Committee of Selection for the first session of the ninth Parliament comprises seven Government members and five from the Opposition.

The Government members are Nimal Siripala de Silva, Dinesh Gunawardena, Johnston Fernando, Douglas Devananda, Dullas Alahapperuma, Wimal Weerawansa and Prasanna Ranatunga while the Opposition MPs are Lakshman Kiriella, Gayantha Karunathilake, Rauff Hakeem, Vijitha Herath and Selvam Adaikkilanathan.

The names were submitted to the House by Leader of the House Minister Dinesh Gunawardena and they were approved yesterday.

The Committee of Selection nominates members to other important Parliamentary committees such as COPE and COPA and is appointed at the commencement of each new session.

The Committee on Public Accounts (COPA), the Committee on Public Enterprises (COPE) and the Committee on Public Finance are among those that will be reconstituted in the coming weeks.