MPs urge Basil to enter Parliament soon

Saturday, 14 November 2020 00:08 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • SLPP/SLFP MPs send letter to Basil asking him to enter Parliament and guide Govt.
  • Letter signed by 19 District Development Committee Chairpersons

Basil Rajapaksa


A group, of SLPP/SLFP MPs have handed over a letter to the Party’s National Organiser Basil Rajapaksa requesting him to enter Parliament soon and guide the Government in its economic activities.

Nineteen MPs have signed the letter which was handed over to Rajapaksa on Thursday.

In the letter, the MPs lauded Rajapaksa for forming the new political party and guiding it towards victory at the Local Government Elections in 2018, the Presidential Election last November and this year’s General Election.

The letter states it was Basil Rajapaksa who created the SLPP and turned it into a political party which managed to secure victory at the Local Government Election, Presidential Election, and the General Election in a short span of four years.

The letter has been signed by MPs Sampath Athukorala, Pradeep Uduhoda, Angajan Ramanathan, Cader Masthan, Dr. Upul Galappatti, Ashok Priyantha, Sanjeewa Edirimanne, Sahan Pradeep, Akila Ellawala, Nalaka Bandara Kottegoda, Amarakeerthi Athukorala, Wasantha Yapa Bandara, W.D. Weerasinghe, H. Nandasena, Kumarasiri Ratnayake, Sudarshana Denipitiya, Rajika Wickremesinghe, Nipuna Ranawaka and Sampath Athukorala.

All the MPs who signed the letter are District Development Committee Chairpersons.

Speculation is rife that Rajapaksa will enter Parliament after SLPP National List MP Jayantha Katagoda resigns from his seat.

At present Basil Rajapaksa heads the Presidential Task Force for Economic Revival and Poverty Alleviation.