Deposit to contest poll made on behalf of SLPP candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa

Saturday, 21 September 2019 00:33 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

  • SLPP Gen. Sec. Kariyawasam makes deposit
  • Says things augurs well for SLPP’s candidate


Secretary of Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) Sagara Kariyawasam yesterday made the cash deposit on behalf of its candidate for the 16 November Presidential Election Gotabaya Rajapaksa.

Kariyawasam, who was accompanied by MPs Wimal Weerawansa, Udaya Gammanpila and Gamini Lokuge, made the cash deposit to the Election Commission.

Speaking to reporters after the deposit was made, Kariyawasam said that the task was undertaken on an auspicious date and everything augurs well for the SLPP and its candidate.

“I have deposited the money on behalf of the winning candidate, the one who will build this crumbling country,” he said.

Two others candidates also made their deposits with the Election Commission yesterday. They were Aparekke Punnyananda Thero, who will contest as an independent candidate, and Welisarage Saman Prasanna Perera, who will contest from the Our Power of the People party. 

All in all, six candidates have so far made cash deposits, including two former MPs, namely Jayantha Ketagoda and Siripala Amarasinghe, as well as environmentalist Dr. Ajantha Perera, who will contest from the Socialist Party of Sri Lanka.

Prospective candidates have till 12.00 noon on 6 October to make their deposits.