Ballot paper for Presidential Poll finalised

Tuesday, 15 October 2019 00:23 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}



  • Names placed in alphabetical order
  • Symbols allocated to all candidates
  • Aparekkhe Pannananda Thera first on list while Mahesh Senanayake last
  • EC urges candidates to abide by Code of Conduct as campaign gets into full swing


By Chandani Kirinde

The Election Commission (EC) has finalised the symbols for all 35 candidates contesting the November 16 Presidential Election and released a sample of the ballot paper which places name of candidates in alphabetical order.

The first name on the list is of Aparekkhe Pannananda Thera who is contesting as an independent candidate while former Army Commander Mahesh Senanayake who is contesting from the National People’s Party (NPP) is last on the list.

Number 11 on the list is JVP Leader Anura Kumara Dissanayake who is contesting from the National People’s Movement (NPM) and UNP Deputy Leader Sajith Premadasa who is contesting from the National Democratic Front (NDF) is number 19, while Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) candidate Gotabaya Rajapaksa’s number is 25.

The EC said last week that the ballot paper for this election will be 26 inches long with the record number of candidates vying for the top job and this is would push the election bill close to Rs. 5 billion.

The EC said that the Government Printer has sent samples of the ballot paper for the Presidential Election and that bigger ballot boxes would be needed to enable people to cast their votes without inconvenience.

Meanwhile with the election campaign in full swing, the EC also urged candidates to abide by the Code of Conduct for political parties and candidates contesting the election which is applicable to the period commencing from the date of notice of nomination and to the date of declaration of the result of any election.

This year’s Code of Conduct specially touches on hate speech or speech prejudicial to national harmony and has urged political parties, candidates and their supporters to abstain from hate speech of any form including speech that threatens or insults communities or social groups, especially women, persons with special needs or disabled, those of different sexual orientation and other religious or ethnic groups.