16 SLFPers to step down and sit in Opposition

Thursday, 12 April 2018 00:10 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


  • But to remain in SLFP

The 16 Sri Lanka Freedom Party MPs who voted in favour of the No-Confidence Motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe resigned from their portfolios from midnight last night.

SLFP MP Lakshman Yapa Abeywardana said that they had met with President Maithripala Sirisena and communicated their decision to step down.

“We explained our reasons for stepping down and our current position. The President’s only request was that we remain in the Sri Lanka Freedom Party,” MP Abeywardana said, adding that the group was willing to cross over and sit in the Opposition in Parliament.

Accordingly, Susil Premajayantha, Dayasiri Jayasekara, Dilan Perera, John Seneviratne, Lakshman Wasantha Perera, Dr Sudarshani Fernandopulle, Tharanath Basnayake, Susantha Punchinilame, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, S B Dissanayake, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, Chandima Weerakkody, Anuradha Jayaratne, Sumedha Jayasena and Deputy Speaker Thilanga Sumathipala will be stepping down.

The Deputy Speaker is to hand over a letter of resignation, stepping down as the Deputy Speaker, to Speaker Karu Jayasuriya today (12 April). (SG)