Dunamis Capital appoints Nishan de Mel as Independent Director

Thursday, 13 November 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Dunamis Capital PLC has announced the appointment of senior economist Nishan Chanaka de Mel as an Independent, Non-Executive Director of the company with immediate effect. Educated at the universities of Oxford and Harvard, de Mel is the Executive Director of Verité Research Ltd., a think tank that provides analytical research and advisory services on economic, political and legal issues in Sri Lanka and Asia. He has been a Member of the Presidential Task Force on Health Sector Reform, the Presidential Committee on Tobacco, Alcohol and Dangerous Drugs Regulation, and the National Steering Committee on Social Security. He has also served as the Executive Director of the International Centre for Ethnic Studies (ICES) and on the Board of the Sri Lanka Foundation. Commenting on his appointment to the Board of Dunamis Capital PLC, the company’s Chairperson Manjula Mathews said: “Nishan de Mel’s incisive strategic and analytical ability and his grasp of policy and issues would be invaluable to the growth and evolution of Dunamis as well as to the individual business within it. With all subsidiaries performing to expectations, Dunamis is looking at noteworthy growth in the years ahead.” An economist with wide-ranging academic, policy and private sector experience, de Mel publishes and contributes extensively in the field of economic research. Internationally, he has held several governing, teaching and research positions including as Lecturer in Economics at Oxford University. He earned his Masters and doctoral degrees in economics at the University of Oxford and his undergraduate degree in economics from Harvard University. Dunamis Capital PLC is the holding company of First Capital Holdings PLC, Kelsey Developments PLC and Premier Synthetic Leather Manufacturers Ltd. Subsequent to de Mel’s appointment, the Board of Directors of Dunamis Capital PLC comprises M. Mathews (Executive Chairperson), D. Schaffter (Managing Director), N.E. Rodrigo, A.D.E.I. Perera, C.L. de Silva, S. Wickramasuriya and N.C. de Mel.