Dharmasiri appointed Acting Chairman of Lankaputhra Development Bank

Thursday, 23 January 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Ministry of Finance and Planning has appointed a well-known banker, H.S.Dharmasiri, as the Acting Chairman of the Lankaputhra Development Bank (LDB) with effect from 20 January. Prior to this appointment, Dharmasiri was serving as a board member of the bank since October 2012. This move follows the resignation of Kumudiniy Kulathunga from the Board of Directors who also served as the Chairperson of the bank since January 2012. Dharmasiri brings a wealth of experience to the bank as a senior banker with over 35 years of experience at executive level ranging from Branch Manager to General Manager/CEO of the State-run prominent commercial bank, People’s Bank.  He is a graduate from the University of Colombo with B.A. (Hon) and B. Phil. He is also a fellow member of IBSL and holds a Diploma in Banking from IBSL. Dharmasiri has followed study courses relating to Banking and Management by AIM (Philippines), AOTS (Japan), NIMB (Pune) and University of Colombia (New York). He served as a member of the Governing Board of the Institute of Bankers of Sri Lanka and as a Director of Credit Information Bureau, Lanka Clear Co Ltd. and People’s Travel Ltd. Lankaputhra Development Bank is a fully-fledged government Bank opened to strengthen the local economy by supporting the entrepreneurs of the country. The bank has initiated many loan schemes to support the Small and Medium entrepreneurs in the country such as project loans, micro finance loan scheme, ‘Sarusara’ (NCRCS), ‘Saubagya’ and ‘Jayadiri’ special loan schemes. Apart from these loan schemes, bank offers ‘Shasthree’ Higher Education loan scheme, E-top computer loan scheme, ‘Laksaviya’ leasing facility and ‘Laksahana’ pawning facility. ‘Lakmuthu’ children’s savings is on offer for the younger generation with attractive rate of interest. Presently, the bank has a countrywide branch network in Colombo, Hambantota, Polonnaruwa, Kegalle, Kandy, Wennappuwa, Batticaloa and Trincomalee.