SLICM President to revamp curriculum amidst increasing demand for credit management qualification

Friday, 26 July 2019 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}


Newly-appointed Sri Lanka Institute of Credit Management (SLICM) President Hafeez Rajudin is set to take the lead in strengthening the institute’s position across the finance and banking industry by revamping its curriculum in credit management, to ensure its continuing relevancy despite new complexities and challenges facing the

President Hafeez Rajudin


Hafeez was elected as the new President of SLICM at its Annual General Meeting held on 28 June along with 14 other office bearers. 

Established under Parliament Act No. 7 of 2000, SLICM is the only authorised body to educate the finance and banking industry on credit management. SLICM offers three qualifications, namely, Diploma in Credit Management, Advanced Diploma in Credit Management and Advanced Professional Diploma in Credit Management. SLICM is also a member of the Institute of Credit Management UK. 

An important advantage of the SLICM qualification, according to Hafeez, is that it allows those who complete the various diploma programs to function professionally and responsibly as a credit management professional whose ultimate focus is to ensure the sustainability of the organisation. 

“Many finance companies fall into the debt trap because of the creation of credit without any professional understanding and this is where our members play a major role because they understand how to function responsibly and professionally,” he said. 

Since its establishment, SLICM has trained over 2,500 students from over 100 financial institutions. 

Asia International Academy Holdings Ltd. is the accredited study centre for SLICM since 2012 to date.

New Council Members

Immediate Past 

President: Lyle Peiris

Vice President: Jithendra Gunathilake

Secretary: Uchitha Wickramaarachchi (reappointed) 

Asst. Secretary: Indrani Rodrigo (reappointed) 

Treasurer: Romani De Silva (reappointed) 

Asst. Treasurer: Nilanka Peiris

Council Members: Shelreen Weldt, Pramuditha Mendis, Chandrika Gunawardena, Thusitha Ediriweera, Chandana Jayanath, Sarath Kumaarasiri.

Ex. Officio Members: Roshan Abeygoonawardena (Chairman FHA)