Magician’s Toolbox wins TNL Onstage 2012

Saturday, 11 August 2012 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The finals of TNL Onstage (Party in the Park) 2012 took place last Saturday (4 August) amidst a near full house at the Viharamahadevi Amphitheatre. The show was an entertainment-packed celebration of classical rock, hip-hop, pop, gospel, heavy metal and soul as 12 finalists and other guest artists from various genres and generations came together over music.

Magician’s Toolbox emerged winners of the Best Band and Best Original Song category while the runner up title was awarded to Rivera. Trojan Arc, Twisted Minit, Killfeed and Disclaimer were the other bands that made it to the finals.

Of the six soloists that took part, Melissa Pereira was judged the best Soloist with Prabodhya Fernando the runner up of the category. Shane Vincent, Shali Fernando, Rajitha Fernando and Chalitha Weerakody were the finalists for the evening.

Guest artists this year were Roadkill, Rocky Road, DJ Asvajit, new metal-dubstep outfit Duckdog, drummers Naadro and a ‘super band’ that comprised of Andrew Obeysekara of Stigmata, Thilak Dias, Harshan Gallage, Kamal Perera; a reminder that original rock and roll owes its endurance in live concerts to generations of legends like Mirage, Flame, Rattlesnake and Stigmata.

Guitarist Shamin Kumarasinghe won the title of Best Musician. Awards in total were: Dialog Voice Your Choice winner, Chalitha Weerakkody; Best Musician, Shamin Kumarasinghe; Best Original Song, Magician’s Toolbox; KIK Cola theme song winner, Twisted Minit; Dialog KLIK Onstage Winner, Twisted Minit and Raffles Design Award winners Team Recon.