Five novels shortlisted for Sri Lanka’s richest literary prize

Wednesday, 21 August 2013 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The five Sinhala novels shortlisted for the 2013 ‘Swarna Pusthaka’ award, Sri Lanka’s richest literary prize, were submitted on Thursday, 15th August to the panel of judges that will select the winner. The five books are ‘Atha Atha Nera’ by Sumithra Rahubadda, ‘Senkottan’ by Mahinda Prasad Masimbula, ‘Kaala Sarpa’ by Keerthi Welisarage, ‘Kande Veediya’ by Kapila Kumara Kalinga and ‘Theppasema Gini’ by Samaraweera Wijayasingha. The five books were presented by Vijitha Yapa, President of the Sri Lanka Book Publishers Association, to Ariyawansa Ranaweera, the Chairman of the five-member final selection committee. The winner will be announced at the Swarna Pusthaka Awards on 10th September at the BMICH. Prize monies totalling Rs.750,000 including the grand prize of Rs.500,000 and Rs.50,000 each to the authors of the five short-listed novels will be presented at this event. Conducted annually by the Sri Lanka Book Publishers Association (SLBPA) since 2007, the Swarna Pusthaka Awards programme is held in conjunction with the Colombo International Book Fair (CIBF), which takes place every September. This year, 116 novels published in 2012 were submitted for the award, and judging was in three stages leading up to the final round of five.