Fairway National Literary Awards 2016 – Shortlists announced!

Friday, 2 September 2016 00:01 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Untitled-2From left: Tissa Devendra (member of the English judging panel), S. Pathmanathan (member of the Tamil judging panel), Prof. Piyaseeli Wijemanne (member of the Sinhala judging panel), Fairway Holdings Deputy Chairman Kavinda Dias-Abeysinghe, Dr. Dharmasena Pathiraja (member of the Sinhala judging panel), Prof. Sitralega Maunaguru (member of the Tamil judging panel), Dr. Vivimarie Vander Poorten (member of the English judging panel) and FNLA Coordinator Anomaa Rajakaruna

The eagerly-awaited Fairway National Literary Awards 2016 Shortlists were announced at a ceremony held at Hilton Colombo Residences on 30 August. The shortlisted authors will receive a cash award of Rs. 100,000 each while the eventual winner in each language category will receive a net cash award of Rs. 500.000 each. 

The Sinhala language category panel of judges comprise the renowned film director Dr. Dharmasena Pathiraja, Krishantha Fedricks, an academic specialising in linguistic anthropology, and the well-known short story writer, Professor Piyaseeli Wijemanna. 

The panel of judges for the Tamil language entries are; Professor Emeritus Sitralega Maunaguru, S. Pathmanathan, former Principal of Palaly Training College and better known as the poet and translator ‘Sopa,’ and Professor Mohamed Abdulla Mohamed Rameez, Professor of Tamil Language at the South Eastern University. 

The English language category’s panel of judges comprises the distinguished former civil servant and author, Tissa Devendra, Dr. Vivimarie VanderPoorten, an acclaimed poet and academic, and novelist and Commonwealth Book Prize Winner Nayomi Munaweera.

These distinguished judges will, over the coming months, select the winners in each language category, the announcement of which will take place in January 2017 at the Fairway Galle Literary Festival, one of the most popular literary festivals in the world.

The Fairway National Literary Awards are sponsored by Fairway Holdings with the goal of encouraging, recognising and rewarding Sri Lankan creative writing excellence. 

FNLA 2016 Shortlisted Novels


  • The Dalada Chronicles by Shyam S. Dissanayake, published by M. D. Gunasena & Co.
  • Celibacy Factor by Quintus G. Fernando, author publication
  • First Utterance by Theena Kumaragurunathan, author publication
  • Parallel Lives by Nanda Pethiyagoda, published by S. Godage Brothers Ltd.


  • Asandhimitta by Saman Wickramarachchi, published by Sarasavi Publishers
  • Ahambakaraka by Liyanage Amarakeerthi, published by Fast Publishing Ltd.
  • Paradesi by Eric Ilayaparachchi, published by S. Godage Brothers Ltd.

Maha Ravana by Tennyson Perera, published by Sarasavi Publishers

  • Sapthambaraye Diga Dawasak by Kapila Kumara Kalinga, published by Fast Publishing Ltd.


  • Panjam Pilaikka Vantha by M. Sivalingam, published by Damayanthi Publishers 
  • Neenthi Kadantha Neruppaaru by N. Yogendranathan, author publication
  • nKalavan Kathikal by J. Wahabdeen, published by Department of Culture, Eastern Provincial Council