Theagarajah at CIMA helm for 2014

Saturday, 18 January 2014 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

Rajendra Theagarajah was inducted as the Chairman of the CIMA Sri Lanka Board together with the new board for the year 2014 at the Cinnamon Grand on 7 January 2014. Vipula Gunatilleka the Chief Corporate Officer/Director of Aitken Spence Group and Manjula de Silva the Managing Director of HNB Assurance PLC were appointed as Deputy Chairman and Vice Chairman respectively at the event attended by 300 CIMA members. The newly elected Chairman Rajendra Theagarajah is the Director/Chief Executive Officer of National Development Bank PLC. Prior to this appointment, Theagarajah was the Managing Director/Chief Executive Officer of Hatton National Bank PLC. He counts for over 29 years of experience in banking both in Europe and Sri Lanka. He is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants of Sri Lanka and the Chartered Institute of Management Accountants, UK and a Chartered Global Management Accountant. Having obtained an MBA from the Cranfield School of Management, UK, he joined the Chase Manhattan Bank (now known as JP Morgan Chase) in London and obtained extensive experience in internal control systems, branch operations, global custody and treasury management within the bank’s Europe, Middle East and Africa (EMEA) Region. He returned to Sri Lanka in 1992 and joined the Colombo Branch of Banque Indosuez (now part of the CALYON Group) and served as its Deputy General Manager. Currently he is a member of the CIMA Global Council. He is also the Deputy Vice Chairman of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce, Member of the Sri Lanka Auditing Quality Assurance Board, a committee member of Sri Lanka Accounting and Auditing Standards Monitoring Board and Colours of Courage (Cancer Trust). He is a former Director of the Colombo Stock Exchange, past Chairman of the Sri Lanka Banks’ Association and Past President of the Association of Professional Bankers in Sri Lanka. Thegarajah is the first Sri Lankan to assume Chairmanship of the Asian Bankers’ Association from 1 November 2010 for a two-year tenure. He is also a member of the Governing Board of the World University Service of Canada and was recently appointed as Treasurer cum Director of the American Chamber of Commerce in Sri Lanka.