Sri Lanka – Australia – New Zealand Business Council holds 16th AGM

Saturday, 3 December 2011 00:33 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The 16th Annual General Meeting of the Sri Lanka – Australia – New Zealand Business Council (SLANZBC) of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce was held recently.  

The event was graced by Deputy High Commissioner for Australia in Sri Lanka Mme. Sonya Koppe.

The Council was renamed as the Sri Lanka – Australia - New Zealand Business Council at the Annual General Meeting of the Council held on July 31, 2001. The Council has continued to be an important link between Sri Lanka and Australia and Sri Lanka and New Zealand.

Addressing the gathering Madam Koppe stated that during 2010-2011 period two way trade has increased by 10% and industries such as mining and energy, food and beverages, education, hospitality and healthcare have a huge potential of development.  

Congratulating the new Committee Koppe mentioned that SLANZBC can take the leading role and be the catalyst to further strengthen the trade relationship between two countries. Honorary Consul General of New Zealand and CEO of Saraa OS Leather (Pvt.) Ltd. Senaka Silva was re-elected as the President of the Council for the year 2011/2012.

Infotechs General Manager – Business Development Ramya Perera, Malship Ceylon Executive Director Mark Francis,  Lidechsi Chairman Lionel Silva, and Waters Edge General Manager Thusith Samaraweera were elected as Vice Presidents of the Council respectively.

The following were elected to serve on the Committee of the Sri Lanka – Australia – New Zealand Business Council for the year 2010/2011; AG International (Pvt.) Ltd., Dart Global Logistics (Pvt.) Ltd., Green Earth Group, Glolan International (Pvt.) Ltd., Fonterra Brands (Pvt.) Ltd., John Keells Holdings PLC, Mega Pharma (Pvt.) Ltd., Prestige Foods Lanka (Pvt.) Ltd., Sri Lankan Catering (Pvt.) Ltd., and Westmann Engineering Company (Pvt.) Ltd.