FCCISL launches Sri Lankan Entrepreneur of the Year 2011 contest

Thursday, 7 July 2011 00:26 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The Sri Lankan Entrepreneur of the Year Awards recognised as Sri Lanka’s highest national honour to the business community — grandeur and prestigious awards unparalleled by any other national awards scheme — was launched by the Federation of Chambers of Commerce and Industry of Sri Lanka (FCCISL) on Wednesday, 6 July, 2011 for the 16th consecutive year.

This annual award scheme is designed especially to distinguish, reward and motivate Sri Lanka’s very own entrepreneurs to reach the pinnacle of achievement whilst contributing towards the national economy. The event is organised by FCCISL in association with its 52 member chambers and associations as a tribute to the country’s outstanding entrepreneurs both at provincial and national level. The awards ceremony was primarily launched based on a concept of former FCCISL President Patrick Amerasinghe.

The contestant enterprises have been grouped into four categories, Small — for investments from Re.1 up to Rs. 2 million, Medium — for investments over Rs. 2 million up to Rs 20 million, Large — for investments between Rs 20-50 million and Extra Large — for investments of over Rs. 50 million.

The appropriate category of the enterprise is to be determined by taking into account the total assets as at the last financial year.

In addition there are also two special award categories — the Woman Entrepreneur of the Year and the Young Entrepreneur of the Year, motivating and recognising the strength of the woman and the young entrepreneur and their contribution to the country’s economy by providing gainful employment. This exclusive award recognises and brings to stage the visionary person behind the success, driving all resources and competencies towards achievement amidst vivid challenges and difficulties throughout his/her journey. The event has earned its own credibility for its independent processes of judging by professionals and experts, representing diverse disciplines nominated from state and private sector institutions of the country covering different aspects of the programme. FCCISL member Chambers and other institutions including banks, leasing companies and insurance companies, as in the past will be actively involved in promoting the event in all regions of the country including the North and East.

It is also noteworthy that FCCISL has been successful in attracting all business sectors such as agriculture, services, industry and trading encompassing all 25 Districts in the nine provinces. The application process covers an all round evaluation by capturing entrepreneurial qualities including vision, mission, innovative strategies and business success in terms of financial performance, growth, future plans and response to social, environmental and statutory commitments as an entrepreneur.Sri Lanka Entrepreneur of the Year is staged at two levels, provincial and national. Provincial awards will comprise nine Gold awards for the nine provinces, 36 Silver awards comprising four awards each for the nine provinces in the small, medium, large and extra large categories.

Similarly there will be two Bronze awards each in the four categories and therefore a total of 72 for the nine provinces with a total of 117 provincial awards.Of the national awards there will be an overall Platinum award winner followed by four Gold awards, eight Silver awards and 12 Bronze awards in the small, medium, large and extra large categories with a total of 25 awards. Richard Jayatissa Managing Director of Richard Trading Co. (Pvt) Ltd. was the last year’s Sri Lankan Entrepreneur of the Year.

Sri Lankan Entrepreneur of the Year 2011 application forms will be available from 15 July 2011 at the FCCISL Secretariat located at 53, Vauxhall Lane, Colombo 2, and at the Regional/District member Chambers of FCCISL located island wide, or can be downloaded from www.entrepreneur.fccisl.lk. The sponsors for this event are HNB Assurance PLC., No Limit, Wijeya Newspapers Limited, Bates Strategic Alliance, Thinakaran, Neth FT and Rupavahini.