CIMA LMD 100 awards ceremony and gala dinner today

Tuesday, 1 December 2015 00:26 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

CIMA Sri Lanka along with the pioneering business magazine LMD will be recognising companies that were named in the LMD 100’s Hall of Fame, at a sit-down gala dinner. The event will include the top 10 listed entities in the annual special edition, the local equivalent of the globally acclaimed Fortune 500. Ceylon Chamber of Commerce Chairman Samantha Ranatunga will grace this year’s event as the Chief Guest.

In addition to LMD 100, the Sri Lankan of the Year (SLOTY) award and the Lifetime Achievement Award will also be announced at this prestigious event. LMD’s SLOTY award was conceptualised over two decades ago, with eminent individuals from diverse disciplines – including business, sports and politics, as well as members of civil society – being recognised for the honour they bring to our motherland through their respective fields, every year.

The recipient of the first award was won by the late Sri Lankabhimanya Lakshman Kadirgamar in 2005. Other luminaries to be named Sri Lankan of the Year include former UN Under-Secretary-General for Disarmament Affairs Jayantha Dhanapala, Kumar Sangakkara and many other sporting heroes, past presidents and prime ministers, and leading businesspeople such as Deshamanya Ken Balendra.

LMD’s Lifetime Achievement Award – which honours a senior individual who is highly respected in the business community – will also be presented at this event. Trailblazing personalities including Rienzie Wijetilleke, Hemaka Amarasuriya and Merrill J. Fernando have been conferred with the Lifetime Achievement Award in previous years.

CIMA LMD 100 awards ceremony and gala dinner will be held at the Cinnamon Grand from 7 p.m. onwards.