AmCham appoints new President, Board of Directors for 2014/2015

Tuesday, 21 October 2014 01:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The 22nd Annual General Meeting of the American Chamber of Commerce in Sri Lanka (AmCham) was held on 29 September at the Hilton Colombo Residencies. The new Board of Directors was appointed for the year 2014/2015. Asanka Ratnayake, the newly-elected President, is currently serving as a Group Director at Hayleys Advantis Ltd., the Logistics and Transportation arm of Hayleys PLC. Ratnayake is responsible for seven locally-based strategic business units and one overseas-based strategic business unit.                 Ratnayake possesses more than two decades of experience in the field of logistics and transportation with two years overseas experience. He is also serving as VP of Sri Lanka France Business Council. Ratnayake takes over from Suren Rajanathan who was appointed AmCham President for year 2013/2014. Rajanathan remains on the Board as President Emeritus. The newly-appointed AmCham Board of Directors consists of Asanka Ratnayake – President (Director – Mountain Hawk Express Ltd.); Felicio Ferraz – Vice President (Managing Director/CEO – Ceylon Tobacco Company PLC); Suren Rajanathan – President Emeritus (Vice President – 3M Lanka Ltd.); Nimal Cooke – Secretary (Executive Director – The Maharaja Organization Projects Ltd.); Rajendra Theagarajah – Treasurer (Director/CEO NDB Bank); Prakash Mirchandani – Director (Managing Director – F.G. Holdings Ltd.); Dinesh Mendis – Director (Director – Aitken Spence Group Ltd. and Managing Director – MMBL Money Transfer Ltd.); Mahinda Halangode – Director (Country Manager – DuPont Lanka Ltd.); Imran Vilcassim – Director (Country Manager – Microsoft Sri Lanka Ltd.); Neela Marikkar – Director (Chairperson/Managing Director – Grant McCann Erickson); John Mackay Gill – Director (Chief Executive Officer – Millennium Information Technologies); Ravin Basnayake – Director (Country Head and CEO – Citibank,N.A.); ManeshFernando – Director (General Manager – Hilton Colombo); and Christopher Corkey (US Embassy Representative).