Sri Lanka-Singapore Business Council elects Rohitha Mendis as President at 20th AGM

Wednesday, 19 September 2018 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

The 20th Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the Sri Lanka-Singapore Business Council of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce was held recently at the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce – Boardroom electing Rohitha Mendis as the President. The AGM was attended by over 35 representatives from member companies. 

Rohitha Mendis, the newly elected President addressing the members mentioned, “Our purpose is to help our members to reach out to Singaporean counterparts and explore new opportunities and frontiers for business expansions,” and added that he will focus the attention and organise activities towards this goal. He urged and encouraged all members to actively engage in the affairs of the council, so that the decisions taken and actions implemented, will be fruitful to all members as well as the country as a whole. Rohitha further requested ideas and suggestions from the membership. 

He mentioned that since the signing of the SLSFTA there has been much focus on Sri Lanka and several business delegations from Singapore have already visited Sri Lanka exploring opportunities and assured the membership the support of the council in securing opportunities for members. Some of the activities planned include leading outward business delegations of local companies to Singapore to meet their counterparts and looking for new frontiers, members evening, luncheon meeting, etc., and updating the members as and when events are planned.  

M/s. Prajeeth Balasubramaniam, General Partner, BOV Capital Ltd. and Upali C. Bandaranayake, Director Valdhue and Walker Ltd. and Janaka Gunasekara, Deputy Managing Director – Agri Inputs, A Baur & Company Ltd. were elected as Vice Presidents and Shamil Mendis

Chairman/Managing Director/Spear International Ltd. will serve as the Immediate past President.  

The following companies were elected to serve on the committee for the year 2018-2019: Aitken Spence Cargo Ltd., Just In Time Holdings Ltd., KPMG, MAC Holdings Ltd., Overseas Realty (Ceylon) PLC, Prima Ceylon Ltd.  

In closing his acceptance speech Rohitha once again thanked the Vice Presidents and the executive committee for accepting positions and the general membership for the confidence placed by unanimously electing him as the President of the Council.