National honour for Dinesh Weerakkody

Wednesday, 21 August 2019 00:00 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

HNB Chairman and Daily FT columnist Dinesh Weerakkody was among the recipients of National Honours on Monday 

President Maithripala Sirisena conferred ‘National Honours’ on 70 distinguished personalities to honour the outstanding service rendered by them to the motherland.

The ceremony was organised by the Presidential Secretariat and was held at the BMICH yesterday amongst a large gathering of people.

President Sirisena conferred six Deshamanya awards, one Sri Lanka Ratna award, 10 Deshabandu awards, six Vidya Jyothi awards, nine Kala Keerthi awards, six Sri Lanka Sikhamani awards, three Vidya Nidhi awards, 11 Kala Suri awards, 11 Sri Lanka Thilaka awards, two Veera Prathapa awards and three Sri Lanka Ranjana awards at the ceremony.