NITC 2018 starts today

Tuesday, 2 October 2018 00:15 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

National IT Conference 2018 (NITC 2018), under the theme ‘It Changes Everything’ which is organised by Computer Society of Sri Lanka (CSSL) for the 36th consecutive year starts today at Shangri-La Hotel, Colombo Sri Lanka. President Maithripala Sirisena is the Chief Guest at the NITC Conference.

The Computer Society of Sri Lanka (CSSL) which was established in 1976 is the apex body representing Information and Communications Technology (ICT) professionals in Sri Lanka. The CSSL organises the National Information Technology Conference (NITC) annually, which is the flagship ICT event in Sri Lanka. Last year, the event was Sri Lanka’s biggest ever international ICT event. This event involves key ICT decision makers in private and public sector together to share and discuss latest trends in Information and Communication Technology with over 30 foreign and local prominent speakers and 1,500 plus ICT professionals.

For the consecutive 36th year the CSSL organises the National Information Technology Conference (NITC), with the timely theme ‘It Changes Everything’ to bring better value proposition for the participants. ‘It Changes Everything’ is the theme this year – many of us would like to associate ourselves with this phrase from Steve Jobs’ at the iPhone launch in 2007. All those who are enthusiastic about ICT believe that ‘it’ will change everything – for the better, for everyone. With this in mind this year’s NITC will feature following main tracks. Social Implications of Artificial Intelligence, ICT and Sustainability, Our digital lives, Security in the information society: visions and perspectives, this changed everything, Privacy, data protection, and automation, ICT and an inclusive society, CxO Forum.

The Conference is organised under the leadership of Yasas V. Abeywickrama, President CSSL. The Conference Chair is Dr. Parakum Pathirana while Dr. Malitha Wijesundara leads the academic component of the conference. CSSL VP Prabath S. Wickramaratne, CSSL Past President Chrisantha Silva, CSSL Student Counsellor Prof. Samantha Thelijjagoda, CSSL Past President Dr. Dayan Rajapakse, Secretary Damith Hettihewa, Treasurer Dr. Ajantha Athukorala, Council Members Sajith Sameera, Buddhika Senasekara, Enosh Praveen and Heshan Karunaratne, and subcommittee members are organising of the conference together with CSSL staff.

The event has many sponsors including Lanka Clear, People Bank and SalesForce as Gold Sponsors while CryptoGen, SLIIT, Australian Migration Centre, EduScope.Live, Mobitel, FriMi, Scienter, Exabeam, Ovinway and Career Builders also have joined in as sponsors. ICTA Agency of Sri Lanka (ICTA) is the National Partner of the conference.