Junior inventors for a better future – IESL JIY competition winners 2019

Thursday, 31 October 2019 02:42 -     - {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}}

From left: W. Viduni Punara, U.S. Amalja Mansathi, Eng. Dayan, Eng. J. Meegoda, Eng. (Prof) S.B.S. Abayakoon, D.M.I. Uththara Medagoda and J.L.P. Jeewaka Ranasinghe

School children who won at the Junior Inventor of the Year 2019 competition were presented their awards at the inauguration of the 113th Annual Sessions of the IESL held at the BMICH on 14 October. They medals, certificates and cash prizes from the Chief Guest Chief of Defence Staff (CDS) Admiral Ravindra C. Wijegunaratne. 

D.M.I. Uththara Medagoda from Girls High School, Kandy won for her invention ‘Multi Rice Cooker’; J.L.P. Jeewaka Ranasinghe from Gnanodaya Maha Vidyalaya, Kalutara South, Kalutara won for his invention ‘Instantly Removing Rain Water Fog in the Side Mirror of the Vehicle’ and W. Viduni Punara and U.S. Amalja Mansathi from Sacred Heart Convent, Galle won for their invention ‘Microscope which can be Wearable on the Head’.

Winners of the JIY competition will get a chanCe to represent Sri Lanka at the Intel International Science and Engineering Fair (Intel ISEF) in held in USA. Intel ISEF brings together more than 1,500 students from over 50 countries to compete for nearly 900 prizes.

The Junior Inventor of the Year competition is an annual event organised islandwide by the Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka (IESL) to promote creative and innovative thinking among school children.