Home / Youth / Careers / Higher Education/ IESL Toastmasters Club holds 14th installation

IESL Toastmasters Club holds 14th installation

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Tuesday, 22 August 2017 00:48

The 14th President Installation ceremony of IESL Toastmasters Club was held recently at the Wimalasurendra Auditorium of The Institution of Engineers, Sri Lanka at Wijerama Mawatha, Colombo.

IESL Toastmasters Club provides a comfortable workspace for Engineers interested in improving their communication skills. IESL Toastmasters have come a long way since it was first established in 2004. 

The journey of IESL Toastmasters began in 2003 as a Speechcrafters program conducted by The Colombo Toastmasters club. To continue speaking and to indulge in leadership practice, IESL Toastmasters club was established. The Institute of Engineers continuously supports the club in many forms. 


With the strong leadership foundation laid by the charter President Jagath Jayawardana, all past 13 presidents and the executive committees of the club has contributed to uplift the standards of the club. The club has since been able to very comfortably maintain the charter member strength with the number of members and the quality of the club rising with each passing year.

The club’s growth and the achievements were elegantly showcased at the installation ceremony on Sunday 16 July. In the past year alone, the Immediate Past President, Jagath Wickramasekara, charter member Distinguished Toastmaster (DTM) Zameen M. Saleem, Division Director Ranishka Wimalasena and incoming President Amal Kaluarachchi’s contributions have been significant. 

During the year the club won many awards including the Golden Gavel award, Founders Ribbon and Talk up Toastmasters ribbon. The experience the club gained in the past year seemingly has had a positive impact on club’s internal affairs as well. The tastefully decorated event was attended by all the who’s who of the Toastmasters community including the International President Elect DTM Balraj Arunasalam and District Director DTM Ajantha Jayawardena. The President of IESL, Engineer Jayavilal Meegoda graced the event as the Chief Guest. 

Past President Manjula Samarasinghe inducted 16 new members in to the fold at this colorful ceremony. The incoming Executive Committee led by President Amal Kaluarachchi followed by Vice President (VP) Education, Erandi Udageachchi, VP Membership, Asanka Jayaweera, VP Public Relations, Kanishka Rambukwella, Secretary, Nalin De Silva, Treasurer, Surendra Perera and Sergeant at Arms, Tharika Fernando, were ceremonially installed in their respective offices by Charter member DTM Saleem. 

In his acceptance speech Kaluarachchi said: “As the president, I do not have much to create – but to follow the footsteps of 13 heroes, the legends, the past presidents of our club. They have enlightened us with the destiny, ‘Excellence’. My duty, I believe, is to do the things better, give momentum to the ship to sail through waters.”


Share This Article


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

12 strategic questions for a bank CEO to reflect on

Wednesday, 20 June 2018

1. When was the last time you introduced a truly life-changing product? 2. Small businesses are the life blood of our economy – is it in your blood? 3. Is there wealth at the bottom of your pyramid? Thought of being the ‘wholesale’ banker to ta

Strong trade agreements need 30-50 consultations

Wednesday, 20 June 2018

Coming from a multinational working background, I strongly support free trade given that open competition tends to sharpen

The case of our concealed subservience to China

Wednesday, 20 June 2018

If one takes a close look at the general trend of discourse and debate that has been going on in Sri Lanka, one cannot but be

Muslim markers in Sri Lanka: Changes and challenges

Wednesday, 20 June 2018

If we exclude from our consideration the wars that owe their origin to religious hatred, or to difference in fundamental principles

Columnists More