Home / TOP STORY/ New Cabinet for New Year

New Cabinet for New Year

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Thursday, 12 April 2018 00:00


  • Cabinet Ministers to be sworn in before New Year
  • Unity Government to continue despite removal of SLFP ministers who voted for No-Confidence Motion
  • Secretaries to President and Prime Minister to nominate new Cabinet according to scientific method

 By Skandha Gunasekara

A new Cabinet of Ministers is to be appointed this week with the inclusion of the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP), continuing the term of the Unity Government, a Cabinet spokesman said yesterday (11 April).  

Co-Cabinet spokesman and Health and Indigenous Medicine Minister Dr. Rajitha Senaratne, addressing the weekly post-Cabinet press briefing, said that it has been decided that the six SLFP Ministers who voted in favour of the No-Confidence Motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe would be removed from the Cabinet. 

“It will not be a Cabinet reshuffle but an appointment of a whole new Cabinet. Some will receive the same Ministries while others may change,” he said, adding that the six SLFPers who are to leave the Cabinet will be replaced by six other SLFPers. 

He went on to say that President Maithripala Sirisena had requested that the new Cabinet be appointed by 14 April (Saturday), before the Sinhala and Tamil New Year.The Minister went on to note that the new Cabinet members are to be selected by the Secretaries of the President and the Prime Minister, according to a scientific methodology, indicative of similar subject Ministries being amalgamated or given to the same individual. 

He added that there will be no change in the number of members in the Cabinet and that the number would be maintained at 45.

16 SLFP MPs voted in favour of the No-Confidence Motion against the Prime Minister in Parliament last week, including six Cabinet Ministers. 

Subsequent to the No-Confidence Motion being defeated in Parliament, a group of UNP back-benchers called for the removal of the six SLFP Ministers who voted for the No-Confidence motion from the Cabinet of Ministers. 

Accordingly, SLFP Ministers SB Dissanayake, Dayasiri Jayasekera, Susil Premajayantha, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Chandima Weerakkody and W. D. J. Seneviratne are to be removed from the Cabinet of Ministers. 



Share This Article


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Why didn’t they tell the President?

Tuesday, 11 December 2018

The President appears to believe that he still possesses the full executive powers he derived from the Constitution when he was elected to his office in January 2015. Three months later, he sat during a tumultuous session in Parliament, and witnessed

The implications and consequences of the verdict, whatever it is

Tuesday, 11 December 2018

Quite obviously I haven’t the slightest notion of what the Supreme Court verdict will be, unlike my friend Eran Wickramaratne who announced publicly (and rather curiously) that he doesn’t have the slightest doubt about it. However I do know, as a

Sri Lanka’s economy at crossroads: The 1972-76 Five-Year Plan and its diagnosis of economic ailments

Monday, 10 December 2018

The economist who produced ‘From Dependent Currency to Central Banking’ Professor H A de S Gunasekara, popularly known as HAdeS, was a legend in economics in Sri Lanka. The doctoral thesis ‘From Dependent Currency to Central Banking in Ceylon

Are you monitoring logistics cost in your supply chain?

Monday, 10 December 2018

On the internet a simple explanation of logistics says: “Logistics is generally the detailed organisation and implementation of a complex operation. In a general business sense, logistics is the management of the flow of things between the point of

Columnists More