Home / Sports/ Under-19 squad named for Junior Asian Rugby Championship

Under-19 squad named for Junior Asian Rugby Championship

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Saturday, 18 November 2017 01:41

By Shamzeer Jaleel

The Sri Lanka Under-19 rugby outfit for the two leg matches against Hong Kong was named yesterday. There are 37 players currently training under the watchful eyes of the two coaches Rajeev Perera and Lasintha de Costa. 

The entire program is overseen by High Performance Director of Sri Lanka Rugby Inthi Marikar. A few players are representing their club teams. Once the pool is reduced, a coaching camp will take place before the first leg on 10 December. The second leg will be played in Hong Kong on 16 December with the winners representing the Asian Zone Division I Junior World Rugby Tournament in 2018.

Training Pool

Naveen Henakankanamage (S. Thomas’ College Capt), Aveesha Piyankara (Trinity College), Diluksha Dange (Trinity College), Shaveen Ekanayake  (Trinity College, Lashan Wijesuriya (Trinity College), Sachith Silva (St. Joseph’s College), Shashika Ashan (Wesley College), Swen Muller (St. Joseph’s College), Chatura Seneviratne (St. Joseph’s College), Dinuk Amerasinghe (St. Anthony’s College), Jehan Seelagama (St. Anthony’s College), Shabeer Mohammed (St. Anthony’s College), Gaveen Perera (D. S. Senanayake College), Sajith Seram (St. Peter’s College), Rishane Madena (Trinity College), Heshan Jansen (Kingswood College), Lakshitha Ranaweera (Kingswood College), Hamza Reza (Royal College), Harith Bandara (Isipathana College), Sudeera Gayanath (Isipathana College), Chamod Fernando (Isipathana College), Zayd Sinhawansa (Zahira College), Avishka Lee (Wesley College), Samuel Maduwantha (St. Anthony’s College), Gihan Perera (St. Joseph’s College), Vinul Fernando (St. Joseph’s College), Randy Silva (Isipathana College), Daiyan Sabar (Wesley College), Nipun Tharaka (Dharmaraja College), Dula Thavishka (Dharmaraja College), Inura Samaranayake (St. Joseph’s College), Gemunu Chethiya (St. Joseph’s College), Tehan Seneviratne  (St. Joseph’s College), Ashen Fernando (Royal College), Dinesh Rodrigo (St. Anthony’s College), Thimira Amanda (Wesley College) and Deshan Vimukthi (Wesley College)

Coaching staff Lasintha de Costa and Rajeev Perera

High Performance Director SLR Inthi Marikar

Share This Article


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

The no-confidence motion against Ranil will create further chaos

Friday, 23 March 2018

The Mahinda Rajapaksa-backed Joint Opposition yesterday submitted a no-confidence motion against Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe

Making green cars greener: $15 b opportunity not to be missed

Friday, 23 March 2018

Fortunately for me,W.A. Wijewardena wrote an article on Dhammika Perera’s presentation at the Colombo School of Business and Management

Women’s bodies, masculinities and economic insecurities

Thursday, 22 March 2018

Cat’s Eye was deeply saddened to witness another wave of anti-Muslim violence, yet again, under a Government which promised to protect them from such violence. It was reported that the first round of violence in Ampara was sparked by a claim that

Strong brands can sustain shocks!

Thursday, 22 March 2018

The recent media highlighted the impact of communal violence on the tourism industry. The press conference earlier this week threw out a number as high as 10% whilst the actual cancellation was around 500 room nights around the Kandy vicinity was rep

Columnists More