Home / Sports/ SLC says cheers to ex-cricketers

SLC says cheers to ex-cricketers

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Thursday, 6 September 2018 00:22

Ex-cricketers with Sports Minister Faiszer Musthapha, SLCCompetent Authority Kamal Padmasiri, and SLCCEO Ashley De Silva
Sri Lanka Cricket, under the guidance of Minister of Sports Faiszer Musthapha, has decided to felicitate 49 past cricketers who represented Sri Lanka prior to obtaining full membership of the ICC as a move to honour them for services rendered to Sri Lanka Cricket. 
Accordingly, SLC will offer grant exgratia payments for 12 cricketers who are above 65 years of age and currently living in Sri Lanka.
Each of the selected past cricketers will be given an exgratia payment of Rs. 25,000 per month, running up to one year and renewed thereafter at the discretion of the SLC Management. 
In addition, they will receive Rs. 150,000 per year for hospitalisation subject to original bills being submitted for reimbursement.
Past cricketers residing overseas will notbe entitled to the above payment, and this payment will not be made posthumously.
In the meantime, a memento to the value of Rs. 25,000 will be made to 49 past cricketers who played for Sri Lanka during the pre-Test era.
If an appeal is made for assistance by any other past cricketer strictly falling within the specified criteria who has not been nominated in the said list, this appeal will be considered, whilst any past cricketer who has been made a payment from the benevolent fund  will not be entitled to this scheme.
Sri Lanka Cricket will be handing over these payments to the selected cricketers starting this week. The selection of these cricketers were done by a three-member committee appointed by the SLC under the guidance of the Minister of Sports. 
Among the first batch of cricketers who were felicitated are Dr. H.I.K.Fernando, Daya Sahabandu, Amitha De Costa, M. Devaraj, T.B. Kehelgamuwa, N. Kodituwakku, A.C. M. Lafir, Ranjan Gunatilleke and Lasantha Rodrigo. 
This was done during a simple ceremony held at the Ministry of Sports with the participation of the Minister of Sports Faiszer Musthapha, SLC Competent Authority Kamal Padmasiri, and SLC CEO Ashley De Silva.
SLC will felicitate the rest of the cricketers in due course.
Past cricketers selected to be felicitated:
1.Ranjan Gunatilleke
2.Amitha de Costa
3.M. Devaraj
4.Dr. H. I. K. Fernando
5.Russell Harmer
6.Stanley Jayasinghe
7.T. B.Kehelgamuwa
8.N. Kodituwakku
9.A. C.M.Lafir
11.Lasantha Rodrigo
13.Dennis Chanmugam
14.Hemantha Devapriya
15.Lantra Fernando
16.Bernard Rulach
17.Jerry Woutersz
18.T. A.Buhar
19.Stanley de Alwis
20.Malcom Franke
21.Ronald Reid
22.C. T. A. Schaffter
23.Dr. C. Balakrishnan
24.F. Crozier
25.D. P. de Silva
26.Ranjit Fernando
27.Lionel Fernando
28.L. R.Goonetilleke
29.Kirthi Gunaratne
30.Nirmal Hettiarachchi
31. David Heyn
32.Clive Inman
33.D W. L.Lieversz
34.Brian Obeysekera
35.A. R. M.Opatha
37.Mevan Peiris
41.S. Rajapakse
42.Dr. B. G. Reid
43.J. Seneviratne
44.Anura Tennakoon
45.B. W. R. Thomas
46.Michael Tissera
47.D. Weerasinghe
48.Dr. Cyril Ernest
49.Dr. Sarath Wimalaratne

Share This Article


1. All comments will be moderated by the Daily FT Web Editor.

2. Comments that are abusive, obscene, incendiary, defamatory or irrelevant will not be published.

3. We may remove hyperlinks within comments.

4. Kindly use a genuine email ID and provide your name.

5. Spamming the comments section under different user names may result in being blacklisted.


Today's Columnists

Laurels of ‘Living Together’: Refreshing reflections

Tuesday, 25 September 2018

It was a memorable evening with a mega gathering for a meaningfully different reason. It was not just another book launch with ego-boosting speeches about the author. It was also not an event where a popular politician coming late and preaching about

The fate of the rupee: Central Bank is caught with ‘Devil’s Alternative’

Tuesday, 25 September 2018

Not all are losing when the rupee depreciates The recent depreciation of the rupee against the US dollar in the market has apparently driven the entire nation to a panic mode. While it had been a field day for the media and opposition law makers, the

Southbound rupee and northbound CoL

Tuesday, 25 September 2018

The Sri Lankan Rupee hit a record low of 170 per $ last week, and the Minister of Finance warns of further depreciation. This is inevitable given the chaotic state of the nation’s economy. While the rupee turns south, CoL (cost of living) has no o

In the desert of Tamil films, actor Sivaji Ganesan was an oasis

Saturday, 22 September 2018

‘Indian Film,’ first published in 1963 and co-authored by former Columbia University Professor Erik Barnouw and his student Dr. Subrahmanyam Krishnaswamy, is considered a seminal study of the evolution and growth of Indian cinema. The book is cit

Columnists More