Home / Sports/ Roshan Iddamalgoda new Mercantile Cricket Association chief

Roshan Iddamalgoda new Mercantile Cricket Association chief

Comments / {{hitsCtrl.values.hits}} Views / Friday, 6 October 2017 00:00

Wattala Antonian cricket captain Roshan Iddamalgoda from Media Vision Advertising was unanimously elected as the new President of the Mercantile Cricket Association (MCA) at its 100th Annual General Meeting held on 28 September at the MCA Fine Dining Restaurant at 6.30 p.m.

Iddamalgoda thus became the 40th MCA President overall and the 26th Sri Lankan to hold the high office. The MCA was established by British ex-pat planters in 1911 and the first Sri Lankan President was Chandra Schaffter in 1965. 

Iddamalgoda played Mercantile Cricket for Heath & Co. from 1987 to 1989 and for Mabroc Tea from 1996 to 2010. 

He joined MCA in 2002, held the General Secretary’s post from 2008 to 2012, including the MCA centenary year in 2011, was one of the Vice Presidents from 2013 to 2017 before being named the President. 

Iddamalgoda and Roshan Abeysinghe formed Ragama Cricket Club in 1991 and currently the former is the General Secretary of RCC. 

Iddamalgoda served Sri Lanka Cricket in the capacity of an Executive Committee Member and Chairman of the Tournament Committee.  

Nalin Wickremasinghe from Commercial Bank Plc was retained as the General Secretary.   

The full list of office bearers for 2017/2018 (all elected unanimously)

Patron: Hemaka Amarasuriya 

Vice Patrons (three): CTA Schaffter, Upali Dharmadasa and Chrysantha Obeysekere

Trustees (three): Thilak de Soyza, K. Mathivanan and Neil Perera

President: Roshan Iddamalgoda/Media Vision Advertising 

Vice presidents (three): H.U.U. Buddhima, Prestige Automobile Ltd.

Rohana Dissanayake from David Pieris Group of Companies

Wasanthalal Fernando from John Keells Holdings

General Secretary: Nalin Wickremasinghe from Commercial Bank Plc

Assistant Secretary: Mahesh de Alwis from Fair First Insurance 

Treasurer: Thushan Amarasuriya from Singer Sri Lanka Plc

Assistant Treasurer: Tarindra Kaluperuma from Stafford Motor Co. 

Firms and Representatives: D. Samson & Sons’ Rohan Somawansa

Trendex Lanka’s Sirosha Gunatillake

First Choice Ltd’s Sanjaya Wijesinghe

Merchant Bank of Sri Lanka’s Duminda Pinto

Valibel Finance Plc’s Sajeewa Sapukotana

Tournament Committee Chairman Sujeewa de Silva from SriLankan Airlines

Share This Article


Today's Columnists

A SME policy finally in Sri Lanka

Wednesday, 18 October 2017

The other day there was a communiqué that Sri Lanka must have a SME policy as per the direction from the leadership of the Yahapalanaya Government. It sure gave breath to the economy that is currently nose diving with a growth at 4.7% and all banks

How can Sri Lanka gain from Asia’s ‘noodle bowl’ of regional infrastructure?

Wednesday, 18 October 2017

China’s Belt and Road Initiative (BRI) – a web of intercontinental road, rail and port links – is a hot topic in Sri Lanka

What is more important? Fixing the Constitution or fixing the economy?

Tuesday, 17 October 2017

The Steering Committee of the Constitutional Assembly has produced an Interim Report on six key issues after 73 sessions between April 2016 and September 2017, without basic consensus among the key partners of political party representatives in the C

Top 10 tourist source markets and marketing of Sri Lanka tourism niches

Tuesday, 17 October 2017

The tourism sector is a significant that contribute to the economy of the country. Sri Lanka received over two million arrivals in 2016. This was 14% increase compared to last year 2015. In the case of foreign exchange earnings, Sri Lanka’s earning

Columnists More